A-Z Information

A-Z Information


For more information about Latham Primary School please refer to A-Z at Latham

Car Park

The car park has the potential to be dangerous place for students. Please be especially cautious of children when you are driving in the car park. our car park has a two lane system; the left lane is for drop off and pick up times, the right lane is for driving through. There is a marked clearway for emergency access near the entry steps/ramp, a disabled parking space, and six reserved car parks for executives and school administration staff. We ask that you do not park in the spaces or the  disabled spot unless you have a permit on display.

Class Organisation

The school caters for children from preschool to year 6.

The preschool has two sessions, one on Monday, Tuesday and alternate Wednesdays, and the other on alternate Wednesdays, Thursday, and Friday.

Kindergarten has traditionally stood alone as children learn about the formality of school and the necessity to attend 5 days in the week.

The rest of our classes are arranged in multiage classes, usually year 1/2, year 3/4 and year 5/6. Multiage classes reflect our understanding that children do not all possess the same level of skill, maturity and development at the same chronological age. They provide an opportunity for children's learning to reflect their developmental stage.

Careful consideration is given to the placement of children in class groups for the following year. Parents are invited to meet with the principal early in Term 4 to discuss any considerations the staff should take into account before constructing class groups.

Collection of money

Please send payments to the class teacher for excursions etc. in an envelope bearing:
  • The child’s name
  • The child’s class
  • Amount enclosed
  • Purpose (e.g. Botanic Gardens Excursion)
  • Excursion note
  • Once payment is received a receipt will be issued and sent home with your child if the amount is over $10 unless otherwise requested.

    There are also 2 boxes allocated at the Front Office where you may place P&C or School payments.

    This information assists us to process payments quickly and easily.

    Communication with families

    Latham Primary aims to provide effective communication between staff, students and parents with minimum interruption to classes and maximum feedback between parents and the school.  Some methods used to communicate with the community include:

    Contact details

    Parent/Carer contact details need to be kept up to date in case of an emergency.  Please ensure that any change of details is given to school as soon as possible so that you are able to be contacted if necessary.


    The Australian Curriculum is the basis for all planning and reporting at Latham Primary School.

    The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become informed citizens. It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life – wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.

    From the first year of schooling to Year 10, students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas:

    The Australian Curriculum has been developed as a sequence of learning throughout the entire year.  As such, not all learning areas or parts of learning areas are assessed in each semester. It is expected that by the end of the year, all learning areas will be explored. At Latham Primary School we choose to expose students to rich content about the way the world works through ‘units of work’. Units of work have as their basis understandings from science, geography, history, health, civics and citizenship, economics and business, and technologies.

    In the early years, priority is given to literacy and numeracy development, independent and collaborative learning, and problem solving as the foundations for further learning.  As students make their way through the primary years, they focus more on the knowledge, understanding and skills of all eight learning areas.